Breaking Down The Barriers

For the latest on what Wheel Women says about #barriers to women’s cycling, see our post we wrote for Ella Cycling Tips: Breaking Down The Barriers

http://cyclingtips.com.au/2015/05/breaking-down-barriers/

DSCF2110

One thought on “Breaking Down The Barriers”

  1. Tina, this really resonates with me. I struggle to see what all the fuss is about regarding barriers to women cycling. I don’t see why it’s so different for women compared to men. The only thing that gets in the way of me cycling is safety, and I see very real safety issues out there which effect everyone, and those are more to do with appropriate infrastructure (not necessarily separated, let me add), and motorist behaviour.

    I think women do talk themselves into worrying, and doubting, and talk themselves out of having a go. In many facets of life, not just cycling. This is part of the discussion in the workplace, if you read books like ‘Lean in’ by Sheryl Sandberg, for example. We doubt ourselves, we let others go first.

    But maybe I am missing something. Maybe have experienced greater gender bias in regards to cycling? I would be interested to hear other peoples’ experiences too.

    Thanks for the thought provoking piece.

Leave a Reply

